Manchester City Win 17-18 Premier League Title.
For the fifth time in their history, Manchester City football club has won the topflight title in English football. This is equally the 3rd title in seven years, following the 2008 takeover of the club by Sheikh Mansour bin Zayad Al Nahyan. Video Here
The citizens were confirmed winners following the defeat of the closest contenders and city rivals Manchester United at the hands of West Bromwich Albion. They had been at the brink of the title for a while and were prevented from an earlier celebration by United at their own backyard last weekend.
On Saturday, they saw off Tottenham Hotspurs at Wembley to get closer to the title. With United losing 1 nil to West Brom, the gap difference became 16, confirming City is Premier League winners with 5 games to spare. Video Here
The club has been in a scintillating form in the second season on Pep Guardiola’s tutelage. The Spaniard has turned the fortune of the team just under 24 months. They finished the first half of the season without losing a single game. The incredible invisibility was only halted by Liverpool at Anfield in January, following a 4 – 3 score line. Their only other defeat so far was at the hands on United when they gave up a 2 – 0 lead to finally lose 2 – 3.
At the course of the campaign, City had set a premier league record of 18 consecutive wins. They have also beaten every other team in the division at least once, this current season, scoring 93 goals so far. They have also scored at every single game this season except once. They lead in all important stats including possessions, touches, passes, shots on targets, and goals. The league title is the second trophy of the season as they had beaten Arsenal 3 – nil to win the Carabao Cup at Wembley back in February. Video Here
As stated earlier, Manchester City has 5 more league games to play this season with the earliest slated for 22 April against Swansea at the Etihad. The results of these encounters won’t matter, but with pride at stake, the games might as well be counted as wins to add to 28 wins already. We can only say congratulations to Guardiola and his team. Manchester City Win 17-18 Premier League Title, can they do it again in 2019?